News and Events

Arup shines at NSW Engineering Excellence Awards

Australasia Press Office
24 September 2012

Commonwealth Bank Place at Darling Quarter and Boundary Street Bridge, Roseville, were both recognised for their best practice attributes at the 2012 NSW Engineering Excellence Awards.

A joint entry between Arup and RailCorp, Boundary Street Bridge, Roseville took out the Infrastructure category. RailCorp’s new Boundary Street Bridge in Roseville, on Sydney’s North Shore, is a 3,500 tonne superstructure built to facilitate future growth and represents best practice in the delivery of essential transport infrastructure.

The judges noted numerous features of excellence including the minimal impact on live traffic and the Epping to Chatswood Rail Link during construction, and the demonstrated excellent commercial value and return on government investment. The use of precast elements and building the core of the new bridge adjacent to the existing bridge before sliding into place was also a stand-out feature of the project.

Commonwealth Bank Place at Darling Quarter was a joint winner in the Buildings and Structures category with Westfield Sydney.

Commonwealth Bank Place is the largest commercial office development in Sydney’s CBD. The unique development is located within Darling Quarter, a new 1.5-hectare precinct that includes a new playground, retail terrace, children’s theatre and community green.

The judges highlighted place making initiatives, world class sustainability, best practice and novel engineering as winning features of the development. The building pushes the envelope in terms of engineering and architecture, with the full height atria supported by thin steel pillars, intersected with floating pods and cantilevered stairs. Set in a formally underutilised area of Sydney’s CBD, the integration of amenities for tourists, locals and employees in the precinct has reactivated the area.

The NSW winners will join Queensland’s Metricon Stadium at the National Engineering Excellence Awards to be held in Canberra on 20 November.