Arup wins at Structural Awards 2019

Jerman Cheung Jerman Cheung East Asia Press Office,Hong Kong
21 November 2019

Arup has won at this year’s Structural Awards organised by the Institution of Structural Engineers, a prestigious recognition that underlines global engineering excellence as well as creativity of structural engineers and their ability to harness digital tools to design structurally efficient buildings.

Standing out from a shortlist of 49 pioneering global projects in 12 categories, Arup’s contribution on innovative engineering solutions has earned us two Grand Awards, showcasing our cutting-edge examples in structural design and the ingenuity and expertise of our engineers.

CITIC Tower in Beijing © Fu Xing Architectural Photography CITIC Tower in Beijing © Fu Xing Architectural Photography
Citic Tower, Beijing © Fu Xing Architectural Photography

CITIC Tower, Beijing – Tall or Slender Structures category

With a height of 528m, this 108-storey CITIC Tower is possibly the world’s tallest building constructed in a high seismic zone. A gently rising and curving profile gives the building a contemporary and elegant expression, accommodates more prime-floor spaces at the top levels and provides structural stability at the base. Our engineers introduced a high-efficient dual system for lateral force resistance composed of a fully braced mega frame and a concrete core that provided further stability to the building.

Kings cross coal yard © John Sturrock Kings cross coal yard © John Sturrock
Kings cross coal yard © John Sturrock

Coal Drops Yard, London – Structural Transformation category

Coal Drops Yard has repurposed two previously unused Victorian Coal Sheds in Kings Cross into a buzzing retail destination. The contemporary interventions have been sympathetic to and have enhanced the original Victorian Architecture. The most iconic feature is the dramatic ‘kissing’ roof. Arup provided heritage, materials, geotechnical, structural and façade services, working alongside Argent, Heatherwick Studio and BAM.

To see the full list of winners from each category, please visit the award website.