Four Arup inventors and innovators celebrated in Top 50 Women in Engineering Awards 

Jim Ranger Jim Ranger UKIMEA Press Office,Manchester
23 June 2022

Four Arup engineers have been named in the Top 50 Women in Engineering Awards 2022 (WE50). In association with The Guardian, the Women's Engineering Society (WES) is celebrating those who have supported inventions and innovations that have helped the combat against climate change, as well as advocating for other women in the industry.

Announced annually on International Women in Engineering Day, 23 June, this year's WE50 champions those who #ImagineTheFuture, recognising the dual importance of sustainability and inclusivity in the next generation of engineering.

The four Arup engineers named in the Top 50 are:

Hear from Arup's four WE50 winners about sustainability and inclusivity in engineering.
To view this video, you must enable cookies.

Dervilla Mitchell CBE, Arup’s Deputy Chair, Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, Institution of Engineers of Ireland and Irish Academy of Engineering, helped shape Arup’s women’s network ConnectWomen as a founding member of Arup’s Diversity Steering Group. She extended personal congratulations to this year’s winners as advocates of inclusivity in engineering:

I’m delighted to see a number of Arup women recognised in this year’s awards. I feel humbled when I read of their great achievements early in their careers. May they continue to have interesting and rewarding careers and be role models for delivering sustainable development and attracting others into engineering. ” Dervilla Mitchell Dervilla Mitchell Deputy Chair

Isabel Dedring, Arup's Global Transport Leader and member of the UK Prime Minister’s Build Back Better Council, shared her congratulations to the winners and commendation for sustainability being at the forefront of this International Women’s Day:

With issues such as decarbonisation and social equity now front and centre, most parts of the infrastructure industry are undergoing the biggest transformation we have seen in over 100 years. If you want to shape a zero-carbon, fairer, greener future, this industry is the place to be! It is brilliant to see colleagues at all levels and in all disciplines having an impact in shaping this transformation. ” Isabel Dedring Isabel Dedring Global Transport Leader

WE50 2022 Arup Winners: Divya Bhanderi, Guneet Kohli, Tina Irvine, Sarah Teliani WE50 2022 Arup Winners: Divya Bhanderi, Guneet Kohli, Tina Irvine, Sarah Teliani
(L-R) The four Arup engineers named in the Top 50 are Divya Bhanderi, Guneet Kohli, Tina Irvine and Sarah Teliani.

A further congratulations are extended to the three Arup finalists, listed in the Top 100:

Beccie Drake 
Chloe Goulding
Anna Sutherland