Sprache wählen
DE
People's Pavilion People's Pavilion

Die Ellen MacArthur Foundation: Der Weg zur Kreislaufwirtschaft

Die Ellen MacArthur Foundation will zum Umdenken inspirieren, um eine Zukunft im Sinne der Kreislaufwirtschaft zu ermöglichen.
Die Ellen MacArthur Foundation will zum Umdenken inspirieren, um eine Zukunft im Sinne der Kreislaufwirtschaft zu ermöglichen.

Unternehmen aus allen Wirtschaftsbereichen sind sich bewusst, dass wir mit den schwindenden Ressourcen unseres Planeten verantwortungsvoller umgehen müssen. Arup ist seit drei Jahren strategischer Partner der Ellen MacArthur Foundation. Wir unterstützen die Stiftung dabei, zirkuläres Denken und zirkuläre Praktiken innerhalb der Bauindustrie – welche traditionell viel zu verschwenderisch mit Materialien umgeht - zu fördern.

Neben umfassenden Forschungen zur Planung, Entwicklung und Wiederverwendung von Gebäuden, Technologien und Produkten in geschlossenen Kreisläufen haben wir auch zirkuläre Demonstrationsprojekte wie das Circular House in London und den Peoples‘ Pavilion in Eindhoven geplant und realisiert, stets mit dem Ziel, das Interesse an den Prinzipien der Kreislaufwirtschaft zu fördern und Beispiele für erfolgreiche Anwendungen zu liefern.

Seit 2007 lebt mehr als die Hälfte der Weltbevölkerung in Städten. Laut aktuellen Prognosen soll diese Zahl bis zum Jahr 2030 auf 60 % steigen. Gleichzeitig wird ein enormes Wachstum der Mittelschicht erwartet. Vor diesem Hintergrund wird der Bedarf an zirkulären Rahmenbedingungen für die Stadtentwicklung dringlicher als je zuvor. ” Ellen MacArthur Gründerin der Ellen MacArthur Foundation

Das Circular Building in London

Das Circular Building in London wurde nach dem Zero-Waste Prinzip gebaut und zeigt, wie dieses Prinzip in der Praxis funktionieren kann. Das Gebäude, das in Zusammenarbeit mit Frener & Reifer, BAM Construction und The Built Environment Trust realisiert wurde, basiert auf den Prinzipien der Kreislaufwirtschaft, die wir gemeinsam mit der Ellen MacArthur Foundation entwickelt haben. Alle Bestandteile des Gebäudes wurden gekennzeichnet und in einer Materialdatenbank erfasst, so dass sie später weiterverwendet werden konnten.

Das Circular Building wurde nach dem Zero-Waste-Prinzip gebaut.

Image

The Ellen MacArthur Foundation: the transition to a circular economy

The Ellen MacArthur Foundation works to inspire a generation to re-think, re-design and build a positive future circular economy.
The Ellen MacArthur Foundation works to inspire a generation to re-think, re-design and build a positive future circular economy.

  • $100bn a year could be saved by adopting circular economy principles
  • 3bn tonnes of raw materials consumed by engineering and construction industry
  • 12m tonnes of plastic estimated to seep in to oceans each year

If the world perfected production and consumption in the twentieth century, today businesses in every sector are waking up to the fact that we need to become much better stewards of our planet’s diminishing resources. Arup has been a strategic partner to the Ellen MacArthur Foundation for the last three years, helping to develop ‘circular economy’ thinking and practices for a construction industry that has traditionally been far too wasteful with materials. 

We have already carried out research into closed loop design, manufacturing, and re-use in the field of products, buildings, technology, furniture, vehicles, and packaging. We have also designed and produced circular economy exemplar projects like the Circular House and the People’s Pavilion, Eindhoven at Dutch Design Week to inspire interest and adoption of this important new paradigm. 

Since 2007, more than half of the world’s population live in urban areas and this figure is forecast to rise to 60% by 2030. At the same time, a huge growth in middle class population is expected. Combined, these trends mean that the need to put a circular framework around urban development is more critical than ever before. ” Ellen MacArthur Founder, Ellen MacArthur Foundation

Designing the most advanced reusable building yet

Whilst timber can be a soundand sustainable material, a building that’s built around a zero waste ethos goes ever further. The Circular Building seeks to showcase how this can work in practice. Developed in conjunction with Frener & Reifer, BAM Construction and The Built Environment Trust, the design of this prototype building is fully aligned to circular economy principles developed through our work with the Ellen MacArthur Foundation. In practice, this means that all components are tagged and logged on a ‘Materials Database’, allowing them to later be removed and reused, not wasted in landfill.

The circular building is a building built around a zero waste ethos.