Sprache wählen
DE
Image

Gesellschaftliches Engagement

Es ist uns wichtig, dass wir uns auch in den Gemeinschaften, in denen wir tätig sind, aktiv engagieren. Dabei bringen wir unser vielfältiges Know-how mit ein.
Es ist uns wichtig, dass wir uns auch in den Gemeinschaften, in denen wir tätig sind, aktiv engagieren. Dabei bringen wir unser vielfältiges Know-how mit ein.

Unsere Unternehmensziele beeinflussen mehr als nur unsere tägliche Arbeit - sie motivieren uns, bestmögliche Ergebnisse zu erzielen in allem, was wir tun.

Mit unserem Community Engagement-Programm wollen wir einen gesellschaftlichen Beitrag leisten. Ganz gleich, ob es sich um Initiativen zur Bekämpfung von Obdachlosigkeit, zur Verbesserung der sanitären Verhältnisse in Katastrophengebieten oder zum Wiederaufbau nach Erdbeben handelt, wir suchen stets nach Möglichkeiten, das Leben der Bedürftigsten zu verbessern.

Humanitarismus impliziert ein soziales Gewissen, den Wunsch, einen sozialen Beitrag zu leisten, und sich mit anderen zusammenzutun, die sich für die gleichen Werte einsetzen. ”

Sir Ove Arup Founder

Partnerschaften

Unser Community Engagement-Programm ermöglicht es uns, unsere Expertise in neuen und teilweise sehr schwierigen Situationen anzuwenden. Mit Partnern, darunter externe Experten und NGOs, unterstützen wir die Notleidenden beim Bau von Sanitäranlagen, Notunterkünften und vielem mehr. Jede Zusammenarbeit bietet die Chance, unsere Umwelt mit kreativen Lösungen zu verbessern. Erfahren Sie mehr:

Unterstützung nach Katastrophen

Unterstützung nach Katastrophen

Seit 2016 sind über 700.000 Menschen vor den ethnischen Säuberungen in der Provinz Rakhine in Myanmar geflohen. In Zusammenarbeit mit mehreren lokalen NGOs konnten wir die Qualität der Unterkünfte von Hunderttausenden Rohingya-Flüchtlingen in Cox's Bazar, Bangladesch, verbessern und entwickeln nun Lösungen, um das Hochwasserrisiko zu bewältigen.

Innovationen, die zählen

Innovationen, die zählen

Schlechte sanitäre Verhältnisse, die oftmals in Folge von Katastrophen auftreten, stellen eine Bedrohung für die Gesundheit dar. Daher haben wir in Zusammenarbeit mit dem britischen Roten Kreuz, der London School of Tropical Medicine und Butyl Products ein universell einsetzbares Handwaschsystem entwickelt. Nach Aussagen vertriebener Ugander hilft dieses System, der Ausbreitung von Krankheiten entgegenzuwirken.

Notwendige Infrastrukturen

Notwendige Infrastrukturen

In abgelegenen oder provisorischen Gemeinschaften ist die eingeschränkte und auf dieselbetriebene Generatoren angewiesene Energieversorgung ein Problem. Wir konnten ferngesteuerte Unterstützung für Strom-Mikronetze bereitstellen, die mehr als 220.000 Menschen in Flüchtlingslagern in Äthiopien mit Strom versorgen.

Leistungen für Benachteiligte

Leistungen für Benachteiligte

Auch in wohlhabenden Ländern wie Deutschland gibt es Menschen, die ein hartes Leben auf der Straße führen. Um jungen Obdachlosen zu helfen, entwickeln wir mit der Hilfsorganisation Karuna eine App mit digitaler Spendenfunktion, die auf Smartphones empfangen werden kann und auch ohne Bankkonto Zugang zu grundlegenden Soforthilfeeinrichtungen bietet.

Lokales Engagement

Lokales Engagement

Im irischen Cork haben wir die Obdachlosenhilfe Simon Community dabei unterstützt, stark benachteiligten Menschen mehr Wohnraum zu bieten. Nachdem die Hilfsorganisation ein umfassendes Verständnis für die Potentiale der Immobilienentwicklung gewonnen hat, überlegt sie nun, wie eine bestmögliche Nutzung der vorhandenen Kapazitäten aussehen kann.

Geeignete Projekte gesucht

Unsere Community-Engagement Projekte sind immer Kooperationen und damit eine Chance zu lernen und zu lehren. Auf der ganzen Welt arbeiten wir mit einer Vielzahl von Partnern an Projekten. Wenn wir auch Ihr Projekt unterstützen sollen, nehmen Sie bitte Kontakt mit uns auf.

Select language:
EN
Image

Community engagement

Our aim is always to make a difference for our clients. Making a real difference for the communities in which we work is equally important. We bring our practical, strategic and inventive skills to whatever challenge we’re set, locally and across the world.
Our aim is always to make a difference for our clients. Making a real difference for the communities in which we work is equally important. We bring our practical, strategic and inventive skills to whatever challenge we’re set, locally and across the world.

Arup’s aims influence more than just our day-to-day work – they inspire us to look for greater outcomes from everything we do.

Our community engagement programme is ‘social usefulness’ in action. Whether it is initiatives to combat homelessness, improve sanitation in disaster relief programmes, or disaster recovery after earthquakes, we are always looking for ways to improve the lives of those most in need.

Humanitarianism implies a social conscience, a wish to do socially useful work, and to join hands with others fighting for the same values. ”

Ove Arup Sir Ove Arup Founder

The power of partnership

Community Engagement allows us to apply our expertise in new and challenging ways. We work with partners, experts and NGOs to help build communities’ skills in vital priorities like sanitation, building resilient shelter and much more. Every collaboration is a chance to think imaginatively and improve the world around us. Find out more:

Responding to disasters

Responding to disasters

Since 2016, over 700,000 people have fled the ethnic cleansing in Rakhine province of Myanmar. We’ve worked alongside many local NGOs to help the hundreds of thousands of Rohingya refugees in Cox’s Bazar, Bangladesh to improve the quality of their camps and gain new skills. The camps continue to offer vital refuge to the Rohingya, and we are now helping deal with flood risk and structural reviews of the shelters.

Innovations that count

Innovations that count

Poor sanitation is one of the first major threats to human health in the aftermath of disasters. In a design collaboration with the British Red Cross, the London School of Tropical Medicine, and Butyl Products, we’ve produced a handwashing system that can work anywhere. Informed by the voices and experiences of displaced Ugandans, the system can help prevent the spread of disease and add dignity to difficult situations.

Supporting vital infrastructure

Supporting vital infrastructure

In remote or improvised communities, intermittent energy supply is a common problem, with people left to rely on diesel powered generators. We’ve provided remote technical support on electricity microgrids that power refugee camps in Ethiopia, improving the lives of over 220,000 people who have escaped drought in Somalia.

Services for the disadvantaged

Services for the disadvantaged

There are disadvantaged and forgotten communities in wealthy countries too. In Germany, life can be hard for those who live on the streets. One way to help reconnect young homeless people is to provide banking services so they can access basic amenities and care without a bank account. We are working with charity Karuna in Germany to add a ‘digital wallet’ to an app that runs on cheap smartphones, helping the homeless of Berlin.

Helping local communities

Helping local communities

In Cork, Ireland, we’ve been helping homelessness charity Simon Community to offer greater residential accommodation for the city’s most vulnerable people. With plans in place, the charity is now considering how to develop the project, having gained a deeper understanding of how to get more value and capacity out of their properties.

The global challenge

The global challenge is an Arup programme that provides seed funding for collaboration with partners and communities who can work with us on shared aims. Together we co-create ideas with impact and the potential to effect systemic change, and turn them from initial concepts into scaleable solutions that can benefit vulnerable and marginalised communities world-wide.

Find out more about the global challenge

Help us make a difference

Community Engagement projects are always collaborations, a chance to learn and teach. Across the world we work with a wide range of partners on projects. If you think our people could help your project or goal, get in touch.

Join us and shape a better world

Wherever you are in your career, we welcome creative and curious minds. Join us and shape a better world.