《钥言》

至1970年,奥雅纳(当时名为Ove Arup & Partners)各项独立业务已经遍布全球,期待进一步扩大。自60年代后期开始,由于奥雅纳各项业务的创始人渐渐退休,如何传承公司理念与风格、如何延续大家期望的合作模式成为重要议题。奥雅纳爵士借此时机反思了公司性质、价值与未来。

1970年7月9日,奥雅纳爵士在英国温彻斯特向全球各地合作人发表演说。这篇演说以鲜明的哲人口吻阐明了公司目标,并确立了实现这些目标的原则,后来被命名为《钥言》。

我们时常反思,这篇1970年的演说对于今天的我们意义何在。诚然,《钥言》反映了一位1895年生人的文化规范,某些公司架构与个体角色设定也不可避免地随着时代转变了。但《钥言》所确定的核心价值和原则超越了这些历史细节,至今仍指引着公司发展的方向,助益我们塑造一个更美好的世界。

今天,《钥言》已成为每一位公司成员的必读文献。无论个人还是机构,如您有意了解激励我们追求卓越的动力,欢迎阅读《钥言》。

《钥言》

Ove Arup Key Speech

By 1970, Arup (then Ove Arup & Partners) was made up of several independent practices, spread across the world. As the 1960s drew to a close and the leaders of the various original Arup practices started to retire, it was clear there was a danger that the firm’s ethos might become diluted. There was still a collective desire to continue working together, so this felt like the right moment for Ove Arup to reflect on the firm’s nature, its values and its future.

On 9 July in Winchester, Ove delivered his ‘key speech’ to all his partners from the various practices. In this speech Ove set out the aims of our firm and, in his own distinctive and philosophical way, identified the principles by which they might be achieved.

From time to time we have asked ourselves whether what he said in 1970 remains valid for us today. Inevitably, some specifics about the firm’s organisation and individuals’ roles within it, have changed over the years. It’s also true that some of his language reflects the cultural norms of a man born in 1895, writing in 1970. But when we look beyond these historical details, we believe that continuing to pursue the aims set out in the Key Speech helps us shape a better world.

Today, the Key Speech is required reading for each person who joins Arup and is valuable to anyone who wants to understand what continues to motivate us, both as individuals and as an organisation.