Select language:
Hong Kong Route 8; Hong Kong Route 8;

Route 8 traffic control and surveillance system, Hong Kong

Innovative and comprehensive traffic control system in Hong Kong.

The Route 8 traffic and control surveillance system (TCSS) forms part of a major capital works project between Sha Tin and Tsing Yi in Hong Kong, involving the construction of roads, viaducts, bridges and tunnels.

The traffic control and surveillance system for Route 8 includes 12 sub-systems comprising traffic control and detection, CCTV surveillance, radio and voice communications, speed enforcement systems and field equipment. All of these systems are centrally controlled and monitored by the TCSS Central Computer System located at the Nam Wan Tunnel West Control Building with a back up control centre at the Sha Tin Administration Building.

Route 8's TCSS features innovative rule-based traffic plans. Unlike traditional plans, which are predefined and require the operator to remember and activate plans according to vehicle incidents, rule-based traffic plans evaluate self detected traffic incidents and recommend a response accordingly. This system is therefore less prone to human error.

Project Summary

1,000m span cable-supported bridge crossing the Rambler Channel

1.2kmtwin-bore Nam Wan Tunnel

12sub-systems of traffic control and surveillance system (TCSS)

Other innovative features of the TCSS

The use of SDH over Ethernet communication network to promote transmission speed and system resilience.

Dedicated optical fibre network for voice, data and video signal to save bandwidth.

Video based vehicle detection system and a digital PA system which can be accessed via the communication system (phone lines).

The TCSS has interfaces with Stonecutters Bridge wind and structural health monitoring systems, the control monitoring and control systems of the Route 8 Tunnels and the Tsing Ma Bridge. These intelligent interfaces serve to generate automated traffic plans in case of high wind or traffic accidents.

Route 8 construction started in October 2004 and the TCSS was commissioned in two stages in April 2008 and December 2009.