选择语言
CN
Kai Tak district cooling system; Kai Tak district cooling system;

启德区域供冷系统, 香港

从概念到施行,实现香港的“清凉”愿景

独特的亚热带高层建筑、高密度建成环境已成为香港的标志,遍布全城的摩天楼拥有大量室内空间,对空调的需求十分强劲。启德机场迁出市中心后,原址建设为总面积320公顷的启德发展区,为减少新开发区的空调总能耗,香港政府率先规划了首例海水区域供冷系统(DCS)。从概念直到项目实施,奥雅纳与香港机电工程署紧密合作20年,打造出香港最重要的可持续基础设施之一,实现了香港政府的可持续发展愿景。

项目概要


284兆瓦 设计总供冷量

173万平方米空调覆盖建筑面积

35%每年减少耗电量及碳排放

开拓性的气候韧性项目

1998年,香港国际机场从启德迁至赤鱲角。香港政府随后规划在旧机场及周边旧区进行城市开发,总面积约323公顷。启德发展区为新的中央商务区和逾11万人口提供了大量可用土地,也致力于在可持续发展领域发挥关键作用,为未来营造绿色环境。香港政府以此为契机,实施了首个区域供冷系统(DCS)。

为何空调系统是香港“清凉”愿景的关键

在香港,建筑物耗电量约占总耗电量的90%,而全球建筑物耗电平均水平为40%。建筑物能耗水平高企,占全香港温室气体排放的60%,写字楼、购物中心等建筑空调系统占比最高。在规划启德发展区这样的大型城市开发项目时,区域供冷系统是最节能的选择,比传统气冷式空调系统耗电量减少约35%,因此在香港碳减排进程中发挥了关键作用。

实现可持续发展愿景

奥雅纳自1999年开始参与启德DCS项目。在项目初期,我们的可持续发展顾问、机电和土木工程师研究了DCS可实现的效益,随后参与用户建筑中机房、海水泵房和DCS变电站内的机电设备安装,包括铺设地下区域供冷系统管道、海水入水管道,以及为前期管道提供接驳设施,从而可以为整个发展区供冷。项目最后阶段,我们进一步提供了机电工程、合同管理和施工监理等服务。

区域供冷系统启用

DCS利用海水在中央机房生产冷却水,并通过40公里的地下管网分配到区域内用户建筑。启德DCS总供冷量约为284兆瓦,服务于区内所有非住宅项目,总空调楼面面积达173万平方米,等同于40座30层写字楼的供冷量。项目完成后,启德发展区将有约50座建筑连接至DCS。

该系统自2013年开始运作,整个项目可望在2022年竣工,预计每年节电约8,500万千瓦时,相当于每年节约9,620万港元电费,同时减少5.95万吨二氧化碳排放。

 


超越传统空调的优势

与传统中央空调系统相比,DCS更具经济优势,中央机房的制冷总装机容量小于各建筑机房的装机容量之和,据估算总装机容量可降低约15%至20%,同时减少了各单体建筑的材料使用和机房空间,整体降低用户运营开支。

DCS利用海水进行散热,可以进一步节能,并且无需冷却塔,能够节省出更多公共开放空间。通过引入附近海水产生冷却水,启德进港通道的水流循环及水质也将得到改善。DCS还减少了各单体建筑独立空调系统的散热,有助于缓解城市热岛效应。

DCS在环境、舒适度、运营效率、节能、规划灵活性和系统可靠性方面均具有显著优势,不仅能高效应对碳减排和气候变化,而且是至关重要的城市级解决方案。

启德DCS项目已成为香港推广应用DCS的典范,香港政府已将DCS作为未来几年内所有新发展区域的关键策略。 ” Vincent Cheng Vincent Cheng Arup Fellow and Director of Sustainability in East Asia

Select language:
EN
; ;

Kai Tak district cooling system, Hong Kong

Realising Hong Kong’s ‘cool’ ambition from concept to implementation

Hong Kong is iconic for its unique subtropical high rise, high density urban built environment, with a strong demand of air conditioning for its enormous indoor spaces in skyscrapers across the city. To reduce the overall energy consumption by air-conditioning of the 320 hectares new urban development following the relocation of the Kai Tak airport in the city centre, the Hong Kong government has taken the lead in planning the first-of-its-kind seawater district cooling system (DCS). Arup has worked with the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD), from concept to implementation, for 20 years to bring one of the most important sustainable infrastructures to the city and realise Hong Kong government’s sustainability vision.

Project Summary


284MW designed refrigeration capacity

1.73 millionair-conditioned floor areas covered

35%reduction in electricity consumption and carbon emission annually

Ground-breaking climate resilient initiative

In 1998, the Hong Kong International Airport was relocated from Kai Tak to Chek Lap Kok. The Hong Kong government then planned for urban development on the old airport site and the surrounding older district, covering about 323 hectares. Apart from providing a large piece of available land for a new central business district and home to a population of more than 110,000, this Kai Tak development (KTD) also aims to play a pivotal role in promoting sustainable development and fostering a green environment for future generations. As such, the government has taken the opportunity to implement the first-ever DCS in Hong Kong.

Why air-conditioning a key for Hong Kong’s ‘cool’ ambition?

Buildings account for some 90% of Hong Kong’s total electricity consumption, compared to a global average of 40%. This high level of energy consumption by buildings accounts for 60% of the city’s greenhouse gas emissions, while air-conditioning systems in buildings like offices and malls contribute to the highest portion. In planning a mega-size urban development project like the KTD, a DCS is considered to be the most energy-efficient system as it consumes about 35% less electricity than traditional air-cooled air-conditioning systems, and is therefore playing a key role to decarbonise Hong Kong.

Realising the sustainability vision

Arup’s involvement in this DCS project started in 1999. Our sustainability, building services and civil engineers initially looked at the benefits that can be achieved through a DCS. We were then involved in the installation of electrical and mechanical equipment at the plant rooms, seawater pump house and DCS substation of the user buildings. This also included the laying of underground DCS pipes, seawater pipes and associated interface connection so as to provide chilled water to the whole development. We have provided further electrical and mechanical engineering services as well as contract administration and construction supervision of the contracts for the final phase.

District cooling in action

The DCS utilises seawater to produce chilled water at the central plants and distributes to consumer buildings in the area through 40km-long underground water piping network. The cooling capacity is about 284 megawatt of refrigeration (MWr) for serving the non-domestic air-conditioned floor area of about 1.73 million m2, equivalent to a cooling supply for 40 nos. of 30-storey high commercial buildings. Upon completion of the project, there would be around 50 buildings in KTD connected to the DCS.

The system has been in operation since 2013 and the whole project is expected to be completed by 2022, with an expected annual saving of electricity to be about 85 million kWh, equivalent to HK$96.2 million on electricity bills and a reduction of 59,500 tonnes of carbon dioxide emission from the development.


Benefits over conventional system

The DCS offers economic advantages over the conventional systems as the total installed cooling capacity at the centralised plant is smaller than the sum of individual conventional plants at the individual buildings. It is estimated that savings of at about 15-20% on overall installed capacity can be achieved, which will also reduce the material use and plant space in individual buildings.

By using seawater for heat rejection, there is further energy saving and also more open space released to the public through removal of cooling towers. With the intake of nearby seawater to produce chilled water, the water flow circulation and thus the water quality of the Kai Tak Approach Channel are enhanced as well. The DCS also helps mitigate the heat island effect by eliminating the heat rejection of separate air conditioning systems from individual buildings.

With significant benefits in terms of environment, comfort, operational efficiency, energy conservation, flexibility in planning and superior system reliability, DCS is not only efficient but also a vital city-level solution to address carbon emission reduction and climate change.

This project has become a role model for wider applications of DCS in Hong Kong, and the government has made DCS a key initiative for all new development areas in the coming years. ” Vincent Cheng Vincent Cheng Arup Fellow, Director of Building Sustainability, East Asia