The new roof at Kings Cross Station London

Dynamic transport interchanges

Restoration and redevelopment of an iconic London Station integrating a modern station into a Grade I-listed structure.

Kings Cross Station

Arup was founded in London by Ove Arup in 1946. Now with 15 offices in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, our project work spans building design, infrastructure, environmental and management consulting projects of all sizes – from High Speed 1 to Pocket Habitats.




  • 23Sep 2016

    Ian Taylor appointed Global Aviation Business Leader

    Ian joined Arup in 1993 and has worked in the UK, Ireland, USA and Asia.  Since 2009, he has served as Aviation Business Leader in East Asia, playing a leading role in expanding the Firm’s presence in China. Previously, he led the Aviation team in the UK, Middle East and Africa.

  • 23Sep 2016

    The Smile: the most ambitious structure ever built in CLT

    In collaboration with the American Hardwood Export Council, Arup has worked with Alison Brooks Architects on the design which combines the latest innovations in timber – tulipwood cross-laminated timber (CLT), self-tapping screws and CNC machining – to show how rapid prefabrication is revolutionising timber construction.

  • 19Sep 2016

    The Circular Building: the most advanced reusable building yet

    Developed by Arup, Frener & Reifer, BAM Construction and The Built Environment Trust the prototype seeks to explore how the industry can work towards zero waste. Typically, the construction industry operates within a linear economy of ‘make, use, dispose’ yet unlike most structures, the Circular Building is designed for all the elements to be dis-assembled and re-used.

  • 09Sep 2016

    Alan Belfield and Barbara Lane awarded Royal Academy of Engineering Fellowships

    This year marks the 40th anniversary AGM of the Academy. The first meeting was held on 11th June 1976 by the Duke of Edinburgh where 130 leading engineers, including Sir Ove Arup were invited to Buckingham Palace. Around 50 new Fellows from all engineering disciplines are nominated and selected by existing members each year.