News and Events

Arup wins Major Project Award for King’s Cross

Charlotte S Charlotte Fernández UKIMEA Press Office,Leeds
3 July 2014

Arup has been awarded the Royal Academy of Engineering Major Project Award for our role in the redevelopment of London’s King’s Cross area over the last 35 years.

Arup engineers - John Turzynski, Peter Evans, Ian Gardner, Mike Byrne and Jim Burridge - received the award on behalf of the thousands of Arup people who contributed to the delivery of a number of large and outstanding projects that have transformed King’s Cross from a dilapidated district into a new city quarter and a magnificent multi-modal transport interchange.

Arup’s engineers played a central role in the regeneration of this historic landmark and the wider area. Arup was extensively involved in the three major station projects – St Pancras International, King’s Cross St Pancras Underground Station, and the redevelopment of King’s Cross mainline station – and also helped put King’s Cross St Pancras on the map as a cultural location and iconic place to work with the British Library and Kings Place.

The renovation of the King’s Cross area is a stunning example of sustained engineering achievement and urban design within very specific design constraints. The reimagined King’s Cross station, for example, is a testament to the elegance of modern engineering solutions and a powerful demonstration of the vital importance of engineering to the UK economy. ” Sir John Parker President of the Royal Academy of Engineering

Each individual project was complex and relied on effective collaboration with a number of major clients, contractors and architects.

Together we have redefined, re-shaped and created value in rejuvenating this part of London and, as a result, the area has witnessed radical change over the last two decades. We’ve been able to give King’s Cross a completely new lease of life and this district is now a magnet for culture, business and creativity, and a fitting gateway to London. ” Alan Belfield Alan Belfield Chairman